Parisian Macarons

I’m getting super excited for the holidays. I have already baked all of my cutout cookies (which are chilling in the freezer) and I’m browsing the web for ideas for additional cookies. I love giving boxes of homemade goods to friends and family members for the holidays, however, I want them to stand out. How you may ask? French macarons of course!

These things look easy, but let me preface the rest of this post by saying that these take time, attention and patience. The results are great though so take a few of my tips and try these yourself!

1. Recipe

I found mine via Martha Stewart (she is my domestic idol after all)

2. Ingredients

All of the ingredients looked normal (aka they were already sitting in my cupboard) except for the almond flour. I went to the grocery store and was shocked to find it was available, but even more shocked that it was nearly $10 for a small little bag! Off to Google I went and found a way to make my own almond flour.

20121217-213908.jpg

Seriously so easy. Take blanched almonds and grind them up super fine in a food processor. Done!

3. Prep

In order to make sure each cookie is the same size, you’ll need a guide. I took parchment paper, a small round cookie cutter and an edible food marker. I outlined onto the paper, flipped it over and put it on the baking sheet.

20121217-214130.jpg

*Now might be a good time to preheat your oven to 375 degrees*

4. Whip It

Follow the recipe and whip up the egg whites with fine sugar and a pinch of cream of tarter.

20121217-214245.jpg

Gently fold the egg whites into the almond mixture and pipe them onto the parchment paper. My recommendation would be to watch a video on how to pipe these guys. My first tray was a little lackluster to say the least.

Temperature of your oven is super important. My first tray of cookies didn’t rise much, my second tray of cookies cracked and then finally the third tray was perfect!

20121217-214350.jpg

So I have to say my first macaron experience was a bit trying on my patience and I am happy to say it was only a practice round. I’ve learned a lot and hopefully I’ll have perfect macarons to gift this holiday!

20121217-215118.jpg

Enjoy some macaron inspiration (fingers crossed mine turn out as nicely as these do).

20121217-215243.jpg

20121217-215256.jpg

20121217-215310.jpg

Leave a comment for Comet!