Easter Cookies

Even though we recently got 8 inches of snow, I can’t resist the urge to turn my thoughts to all things spring. Our newly landscaped backyard received a fall planting of multi-colored spring bulbs that I can’t wait to see this year! Until that happens (and since we live in Wisconsin, it may be another 2 months) Easter cookies will have to do the trick.

I assessed my ever expanding collection of cutters and realized the only Easter worthy cutter I had was a rabbit. Even though I feel that new spring cutters would be worth the investment, I don’t know that my husband would agree with the amount of closet real estate they would take up. So with that in mind, I got creative and all of the cookies I created were multi-purposes from ones I had laying around.

First up are these chicks. I found the pack of number cutters I had and realized the zero had a lot of uses. These cute little guys are the result.

20130310-113453.jpg

Next up are the ever popular Easter eggs. Even though these look ornate, they are easy to make. Outline and flood your cookie with a #3 tip and let dry. Using a #2 tip with the same flood color draw slightly curved lines from the top to the bottom of the cookie. Finally with a #2 tip in a different color, add in the small dots between and you’re done!

20130310-113847.jpg

20130310-113906.jpg

The little rabbits are the next ones to tackle. First you will want to pipe the tail and add whatever decoration you want. For these, I used white nonpareils.

20130310-114044.jpg

Next, outline and flood with a #3 tip.

20130310-114429.jpg

20130310-114647.jpg

While the icing is still wet, add in large and small dots with different colors. That’s it! Super easy!

20130310-114954.jpg

Lastly, I had to make carrots for my rabbits. Only problem, I don’t have a carrot cutter. In comes the candy cutter for Christmas!

20130310-115205.jpg

When you are cutting out your dough, take a knife and simply cut off the one end into a sharp point and voila! Carrots!

20130310-115423.jpg

These cookies got boxed up as gifts to friends this weekend. Hopefully they added a little sunshine during an otherwise chilly/dreary March.

20130310-115810.jpg

Leave a comment for Comet!

