Dr. Seuss One Fish Two Fish Cookies

I recently received a cookie order that I had been anxiously waiting upon for quite some time. They were for a Dr. Seuss themed baby shower and they wanted cookie favors for guests. When I first started decorating cookies, I remember finding an image of Dr. Seuss cookies on Pinterest and being in awe of how something like that could be created out of icing. My time now had come to create the magic, but I didn’t know how to execute it properly and couldn’t find a tutorial on how to do it. So below are my instructions and keep in mind that I’m sure these could be done differently, but this method worked great for me.

You’ll need:
Yellow, blue and red icing
Piping bags
#1, #2 and #3 piping tips
Toothpicks
Black Wilton food marker
KopyKake projector

To start you’ll want to have baked round cookies of at least 3″ in diameter. Using a #3 tip, outline and flood cookies with yellow icing. Let those dry for at least 4 hours, but overnight is preferred.

Next you’ll need to turn on the trusty KopyKake and start outlining the image. Using a #1 tip outline the image and then fill with a #2 tip.

20130423-090815.jpg

20130423-090829.jpg

Let those dry for a few hours. Next you are going to take the black Wilton food marker and begin outlining /sketching onto the cookie. I do not claim to be an artist and honestly even my stick figures look awful so for me this was the most challenging part. I would suggest practicing on paper first.

The eyes were the biggest challenge of this cookie. I first tried piping the whites of the eyes in first before sketching onto the cookie and that was an awful idea. The eyes bulged out from the cookie and when I tried adding in the eye lashes with the marker it looked terrible. Below is an image of that first failed attempt.

20130423-091306.jpg

The trick is to sketch everything onto the fish first. Once that’s dried, go back with a toothpick and a bit of the white icing on the end of it and carefully fill in the eye area that you’ve already outlined in black. The end result looks MUCH better.

If anyone has better suggestions (or less tedious ones) for the eyes please feel free to leave a comment!

Honestly, these fish just take a steady hand, a bit of time and a lot of patience. Good luck with trying these out at home!

20130423-091710.jpg

20130423-091718.jpg

20130423-091724.jpg

Leave a comment for Comet!

