Charlie Brown Pumpkin Cookies

Fall is by far my favorite season. I’ve never met a person who says they despise the changing leaves, cool crisp air, apple picking and Starbucks pumpkin lattes. The first official sign of the changing season for me is football. Seeing as today is the first official game of the year, I figured my blog was due for its first fall post.

The first one I want to share with you all is from a favorite Halloween movie of mine, It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown. A while back I ran across an adorable cookie of Snoopy on top of his dog house with a string of lights.

20130908-184125.jpg

I found a super cute image of that dog snoozing on top of a pumpkin. Perfect! Now, I’ll show you how to do it.

What you’ll need:
Pumpkin cookie cutter
The number 8 cookie cutter
#3 piping tip
#1 piping tip
20 second orange and 20 second white royal icing
30 second black icing

The first thing you’ll want to do is create your custom design cookie. You’ll want to cut the dough with the pumpkin cutter first. Make sure to add pressure at the bottom part of the cutter but not towards the top stem. You’ll then overlap the number 8 cutter near the top of the pumpkin. Here’s what it will look like.

20130908-185346.jpg

Next you’ll want to use your #3 piping tip and orange royal icing. Flood the bottom part of the cookie where the pumpkin is.

20130908-185621.jpg

Let that dry for 30 minutes and come back with a #3 tip and flood the top half with white royal icing.

20130908-185715.jpg

Let that dry for at least 4 hours. I would recommend overnight but I get it…we all don’t have that much time on our hands (or in my case, patience).

Next up is tackling Snoopy. He’s oh so cute and oh so easy to draw up! I used my KopyKake but I have no doubt some of you talented drawers can do this free hand.

20130908-190155.jpg

Then get after the pumpkin. I used the same facial expression for all of my cookies, but feel free to change it up if you’d like.

20130908-190318.jpg

Lastly, I outlined the white section and added a few bats to finish it up. That’s it! Simple as that.

20130908-190536.jpg

This cookie tutorial wouldn’t be complete without Charlie himself. This is once again another custom cutter design. I used the same two cutters, but just rotated the number 8 cutter in order to create Charlie’s head.

You’ll first want to flood in the pumpkin bottom with orange royal icing.

20130908-191209.jpg

Fill in the top (Charlie’s head) with white royal icing and then decorate his facial features with the black icing. I know, Charlie’s head isn’t white…it’s a fleshy color, but to be honest, I was feeling incredibly lazy and the thought of having to stir up an additional color at that moment felt like a terrible form of personal torture. So my Charlie is white, yours can be flesh colored :)

20130908-191456.jpg

Here is the end result with two other cookies I made with new plaque cutters I just ordered. I’m in love with them and I can guarantee you’ll see a lot more posts with these cutters in them.

Happy Fall!

20130908-191901.jpg

Leave a comment for Comet!

